New Sculpture

A few months ago (well, probably more than a year ago) I wrote about making a mold on this life size piece, titled “Seep.”

Here is the finished sculpture in its second state. Since I make my own molds and do my own casting, for the most part, I can take advantage of the vagaries of the mold making process. I often include armature elements, mold flashing, and purposefully create casting anomalies. For this cast, I used layers of different waxes, items cast in plastic and resins from found objects in my studio, and backed up these layers with hydrocal.

I used several models for the original clay. Individual portraiture does not really interest me, and in using more than one model I can move away from the specifics of verisimilitude into a more general realm of symbol.

Leave a Reply

