Gwen Lux

He is the Night (Kamehameha)

Gwen Lux (1908-1987) was born in Chicago, and at age 14 began studying art with Mary Chase Perry Stratton at Pewabic Pottery. She later attended both the Maryland Institute College of Art and the School of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston.

Lux most often worked in clay, and cast her work in many materials including concrete, plastic resins and metals. She taught sculpture at the Arts & Crafts Society of Detroit and also received numerous commissions during her lifetime. She created sculpture for Radio City Music Hall in New York City, the McGraw-Hill Building in Chicago, and the General Motors Technical Center in Detroit. The Detroit Institute of Arts, the Hawaii State Art Museum, the Kresge Art Museum (Michigan State University, East Lansing) and the Mariners’ Museum (Newport News, Virginia) are among the public collections holding her work. In 1933 she received a Guggenheim Fellowship. Lux lived and worked in Detroit, Michigan in the early part of her career, and then moved to Honolulu, Hawaii in 1973. She continued to live in Hawaii until her death.

Her first marriage was to fellow sculptor Eugene Lux, and in 1959 she married Thomas Creighton, longtime editor of Progressive Architecture magazine. In 1986 Lux remarried, to her longtime friend and companion Jerome R. Wallace, a well-known artist who created batiks using natural dyes found in the local environment on Kauai.

Pictured is He is the Night (Kamehameha), at the Hawaii Sate Art Museum in Honoulu.

http://www.artsandcraftstile.com/art-tile/Pewabic_Pottery/Pewabic_Pottery_Mary_Stratton.html

5 responses to “Gwen Lux

  1. cbillson@aol.com

    Please correct your site information. Glen Lux remarried after Creighton to her longtime friend and companion Jerome R. Wallace in 1986, a world famous artist known for his batiks made from natural dyes found in the local natural environment on the island of Kauai.
    Gwen Lux died a year later from cancer in 1987 (not in 2001) and Jerome nursed her lovingly until the end.– Charle3s J. Billson

    • Thank you very much for this correction. I posted it and look forward to any other information about Gwen Lux you would like to share.

      Best wishes,
      Carolyn Wirth

  2. When I was about 5-6 yrs old (circa 1956-57) my father did some welding for Ms. Lux in NYC. She had a great presence I do remember that. I went along sometimes with my dad and Ms. Lux gave me some oil crayons and paper and let me draw. I remember her asking me who my favorite artist was and I said Picasso. He is still my very favorite. My dad passed on 20 years ago. I have long wondered what happened to her although I do remember hearing that she moved to Hawaii. I had no idea that she had so many important sculptures. Thanks for the article.

  3. Michael Creighton Fortunato

    My name is Michael Creighton Fortunato. Gwen Lux & Thomas Creighton were my grandparents. I have nothing but fond memories of my Grandma Guinney. Her & my grandpa Tom were great influences on me as far as the art and arch. worlds. They taught me alot and I’ll treasure those times. I’ve always had a deep appreciation for art because they introduced me to another culture where I spent my summers growing up in Hawaii. They loved the Beatles White album.

    • What a great story–thank you so much for sharing your memories. Listening to the White album in Hawaii with artists sounds like an amazing experience to have growing up!

Leave a comment